Don’t Let Yourself Go

three women smiling

It’s so easy to get caught up in the hype of everything around you that time has passed and you still haven’t progressed like you thought you would. Why is this the case? Why do we constantly allow ourselves to go, allow other things, people and perceptions to get in the way? Why do we overwhelm our own selves with other peoples journeys and situations that we miss the ones we could be having for ourself?

I myself have fallen victim to getting too caught up in the hype over other peoples social media pages and personas that I have let myself go because I was too busy consumed in theirs. As a mother, a wife and a woman I continue to want to do better and be better for me first and then for my family. When I am at peace and calm, my family will be. If I am tense and uptight, my family will be. I don’t want that for them, ever. So for those reasons I am always looking to be the better version of me, always wanting to improve and progress.

Us mommas and women have so many articles, posts, blogs on not letting ourselves go and having our self care days and moments, yet we still find ourselves letting ourselves go! Ha! Imagine that. It still happens at times, and it’s not intentional, but it’s normal. And, I think at some point us women have to say, it’s ok! I let myself go but I am back and ready to tackle my goals!!

We are emotional creatures sometimes (haha!) and we might overthink occasionally, so when we recognize our moments of letting go and drifting we must keep in mind we matter, our spirits matter, our thoughts matter, and in order to progress and be our best versions of ourselves we have to put ourselves first.

Letting ourself go is much more that just not getting dressed or combing our hair. It’s our mental state of what is consuming our thoughts. Are we enough? Is she better than me? Am I doing all I can? Why do I feel this way? Am I lost? Why do I feel lonely?

Every day I see a post similar to what I am touching on, but I truly wonder how many other mommas take that as a sign and stop to think about themselves? If you are a momma reading this I challenge you to do just that. Stop and think about it, and if you need someone to be an ear for your moment send me a message, I would love to hear from you. It not only takes a village to raise kids, but it takes a community of supportive moms to remember we all matter no matter what we are going through at the time. Call a momma and schedule a coffee date, or massage day or lunch date – something! You get my point. We don’t have to do and go through these things alone, there are so many supportive mommas we may not know personally, but know through our similarities. Tap into that and embrace it.

Published by The Expressive Mom

A boy momma that stumbled on to an amazing community of other mommas across social media platforms that are positive, fun, supportive, uplifting and entertaining! My new song out now Mommin' My Own Business is the perfect mom anthem for all of us that can relate in some way, shape or form.

Leave a comment